Note: We Want The Sauce is reader supported. If you make a purchase through a link on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission - at no extra cost to you. This includes links to Amazon.

Is Tartar Sauce Vegan?

Are you a vegan wondering whether Tartar sauce is off the menu? Well, today you’ll find out for good. Here is what you need to know.

So, is Tartar sauce vegan? Traditional brands and recipes of Tartar sauce are not vegan. This is because Tartar sauce is mostly made up of Mayonnaise; where egg yolk is a main ingredient of this. Home-made recipes can however ensure that this is a vegan-friendly condiment.

So, if you’re looking to eat some Tartar sauce, you’re going to have to work for it, I’m afraid.

And having reviewed the main brands and products on the market – there does not appear to be a vegan-friendly option.

At the time of writing of course.

Business opportunity – you bet.

But that’s not why we are here.

Instead, let us now take a look at what is in this sauce specifically before we turn to a recipe that you can make for a vegan Tartar sauce.

And it’s effortless and delicious.

Trust me.

What Does Tartar Sauce Contain?

Tartar sauce typically contains mayonnaise (a blend of egg yolk, vinegar, and oil) and a combination of other ingredients which can vary depending on the brand and/or recipe. Capers, gherkins, lemon juice, sugar, salt, and mustard are usually included.

Nevertheless, mayonnaise forms the base of this creamy sauce.

And that’s where the vegan issue truly lies.

If you look at the other ingredients, generally, they should be okay.

But still, that’s enough to rule this sauce out.

Unless vegan-friendly mayonnaise is used of course.

And here’s a recipe to put it to use.

How To Make Vegan Tartar Sauce

Vegan Tartar Sauce Recipe

Tartar Sauce

This vegan tartar sauce recipe is quick, easy, and simple. You can also adapt it to suit your preferences and needs. Nevertheless, this is the recommended recipe to get a Tartar sauce just like how it is supposed to taste!

Prep Time 5 minutes
Total Time 5 minutes

Ingredients

  • 250g Vegan Mayonnaise
  • 2 1/2 Tablespoons of Gherkin/Pickles, diced
  • 2 1/2 Tablespoons of Capers, diced.
  • 2 Tablespoons of Lemon Juice, or juice from half a squeezed Lemon.
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 2 Teaspoons of Parsley

Instructions

  1. Dice the gherkin and/or capers.
  2. Add the gherkin/capers to a small bowl with all the rest of the ingredients.
  3. Add salt, pepper, and top with Parsley.

Recommended Products

As an Amazon Associate and member of other affiliate programs, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Finally

Tartar sauce is not usually vegan.

But it can be.

You just need to make it yourself, from scratch.

And while that may not sound ideal at first – thankfully the recipe is easy and doesn’t take long to pull together.

You can make it fresh, or even do a bit more to store away in a bottle for future use.

Are you wondering what other sauces may be vegan? Well, check out my guides below:

Skip to Recipe