Are you on a vegan diet and wondering whether or not you can consume Kewpie Mayo? Or is this Asian condiment now off the menu? Well, here is what you are going to want to know.
So, is Kewpie Mayo Vegan? Kewpie Mayo is not vegan. Egg Yolk(s) is one of the main ingredients of the recipe, making this a non-vegan option. That being said, you can make your own variation at home, excluding the egg yolks, and sourcing vegan-certified ingredients.
Perhaps not the news you were hoping for.
But unfortunately, it is the eggs that make this sauce what it is, for the most part.
In fact, by using egg yolks entirely instead of whole eggs, Kewpie Mayo gets an entirely different flavor to that of standard Western Mayonnaise.
We now know there are eggs. But what else is this Japanese condiment made of?
Let’s find out!
What Is Kewpie Mayo Made Of?
Kewpie Mayo is made of vegetable oil (Rapeseed, Soybean Oils), Egg Yolks, Vinegar, Salt, Spices, Mustard Flour, Mustard Oil, and a few other unspecified flavor enhancers.
In fact, the brand behind this style of mayo (Kewpie), actually center their recipe around egg yolks.
They do this to give their condiment a creamier, eggier taste. It is also thicker, and the color is richer too.
Alongside this, they add a small amount of MSG to give an extra kick of umami.
And then the other ingredients give this sauce its sweet tang.
The result – a mayo that is distinctly different, and widely appreciated for its alternate flavor.
How To Make Your Own Vegan Kewpie Mayo
If you want to make your own Vegan-friendly Kewpie mayo, you need to make some simple recipe adjustments.
Cashews and tofu can replace the oil and the egg yolks, black pepper can provide the egginess flavor that would otherwise be lacking.
Miso paste is going to be used to add the umami, rice vinegar, and lemon juice to the tang.
From there we can use some of the other naturally vegan-friendly ingredients, such as mustard and garlic powder.
The only thing with this recipe is that you will need a blender/food processor. I wrote a buyer’s guide on the best ones if you are in need of one!
- 1 cup of cashews, soaked for 1 hour
- 1/2 cup of soft tofu
- 2 tbsp rice vinegar
- 1 tbsp lemon juice
- 3/4 tsp kombu dashi granules
- 1 tsp miso paste
- 1/3 tsp Japanese mustard powder
- 1/4 tsp black salt
- 1 tsp maple syrup or sugar
- 1/8 tsp garlic powder
- 1/8 tsp salt
- 2 tbsp water
Step One: To begin you will need to soak the cashews for up to 1 hour. This will enable them to blend much more smoothly, remove grainy fragments and also ensure your mayo is much creamier.
Step Two: In a blender/food processor, add all of the ingredients and blitz together. Be sure to intermittently scrape the sides to ensure all of the mixture is blitzed. The consistency should be smooth.
Step Three: Transfer to an air-tight container and place in the fridge for at least 1-3 hours prior to use.
What To Eat Your Vegan Kewpie Mayo With
Once you’ve made your own vegan-friendly kewpie mayo, you may be wondering what you can eat it with.
Well, the below suggestions can give you a few ideas.
Avocado And Kewpie Mayonnaise Toast
Toast some delicious freshly baked Sourdough, slice some avocado, and drizzle some vegan-friendly kewpie mayo over the top!
Place broccoli, spinach leaves, rocket, and iceberg lettuce in a bowl, along with other veggies like peppers and corn. Drizzle your vegan mayo over the top!
Baked Mushrooms & Vegan Mayonnaise
Cut the stems off large mushrooms, fill the inside with Kewpie mayo and grated garlic. Oven bake for 30 mins!
Vegetable Sticks With Mayo Dipping Sauce
Get your favorite dipping veggies; carrot, celery, cucumber, or peppers. Simply add some vegan kewpie mayo to a dish and dip away!
Kewpie Mayo is not naturally vegan-friendly.
That being said, that’s only if you buy the already prepared, store-bought option!
Thankfully with a few simple ingredient swaps and a little preparation at home, you can recreate this creamy delicious sauce and use it in a number of diverse ways.
You might need a blender to do so, but let’s be honest, this device can be used in countless ways.
It may even become an essential piece of kit on your vegan diet.
Are you wondering what other sauces may be vegan? Well, check out my guides below:
- Is A1 Sauce Vegan?
- Is Sweet Baby Rays Vegan?
- Is Tomato Ketchup Vegan?
- Is Satay Sauce Vegan?
- Is Tartar Sauce Vegan?
- Is Hoisin Sauce Vegan?
- Is Curry Sauce Vegan?
- Are Chick Fil A Sauces Vegan?
- Is Nandos Sauce Vegan?
Hello. I’m Jeremy – an experienced saucier who has worked in some of the top kitchens over the last few decades. With a love for sauces, food, and nutrition, I decided to create WeWantTheSauce. Here I share my knowledge and expertise; from ingredients and recipes to storage all the way through to recommendations for every sauce imaginable.