Note: We Want The Sauce is reader supported. If you make a purchase through a link on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission - at no extra cost to you. This includes links to Amazon.

Is Curry Sauce Vegan?

There’s something about curry sauce. While it comes in many different styles, varieties and is offered by a number of different establishments – it’s certainly a favorite for many. But is it vegan? I spent some time researching to find out!

So, is curry sauce vegan? Curry sauce is mostly non-vegan. Many recipes of this sauce will contain either meat, meat stock, dairy cream, ghee, or palm oil. However, you can find brands of curry sauce designed specifically for vegans, or that are vegan friendly. Check product packaging and/or politely ask for a full list of ingredients to be sure.

Unfortunately, this is not the kind of sauce you can safely ever assume is vegan.

It just varies so much by where you buy it or the brand.

In fact, curry sauce is one that can vary quite dramatically in terms of taste and ingredients.

Let us now take a closer look at why curry sauce is generally made of before looking at some specific types to see if they are vegan.

What Is Curry Sauce Made Of?

Curry sauce is often made from a combination of stock, curry powder (or various spices), onion, garlic, flour, and water. Although, the full list of ingredients can and does often vary.

Sometimes meat, such as chicken, will be included.

Equally, the stock used can be either vegetable or chicken/beef based.

In terms of the exact spices included; typically curry sauce contains garam masala, chili powder, turmeric, and cumin (all of which are generally included in your typical curry powder).

And then, in some curry sauces, they use a fermented paste known as ngapi. This is typically derived from fish, sometimes prawns.

So as you can see, with all this in mind this is how we can have both vegan and non-vegan curry sauces

Is Chip Shop Curry Sauce Vegan?

Chip shop curry sauce is generally not vegan. Most chip shop/Chinese takeaway curry sauce contains chicken or fish in some capacity.

Perhaps the best thing to do here is to ask your local shop directly.

They will be able to explain exactly what is included in their sauce, they are legally required to tell you the ingredients they use.

So, it is advised to politely ask whether their sauce and/or other foods are suitable for vegans.

Is Curry Sauce From Mcdonalds Vegan?

Curry sauce from Mcdonald’s is both vegan and vegetarian friendly.

Reviewing the full list of ingredients, we can see that it is vegan-friendly.

Water, Glucose-Fructose Syrup, Apricot Puree Concentrate, Sugar, Spirit Vinegar, Modified Maize Starch, Ground Coriander Seed, Spices (contain Allergen Ingredient:CELERY & Allergen Ingredient:MUSTARD), Salt, Rapeseed Oil, Tomato Paste, Dried Onion, Caramelised Sugar Syrup, Preservative (Potassium Sorbate), Acid (Citric Acid), Thickener (Xanthan Gum), Dried Garlic, Colours (Curcumin & Paprika Extract), Herbs.

At the same time, McDonald’s has publically announced that their curry sauce is vegetarian-friendly.


Curry sauce can be vegan.

Although most curry sauces will not be by default.

That includes chip shops, Chinese takeaways, Irish curry sauce, and even many jar-bought options.

That being said, there is no reason why this sauce cannot be vegan.

Some are actually vegan by coincidence.

Others have been designed and marketed with vegans in mind.

Take McDonald’s Sweet curry sauce for instance; it’s vegan. Whether intentional or not.

If in doubt; assume curry sauce is not vegan.

But inquire first – you never know!

Are you wondering what other sauces may be vegan? Well, check out my guides below: