Have you embarked on a vegan diet? Are you wondering whether you can consume Nandos sauces or if they are off the menu? Well, here is what you are going to be pleased to know.
So, is Nandos sauce vegan? Nandos sauces are vegan; this includes their Peri-Peri sauces and Marinades across all flavors and varieties. The only exception is Perinaise (which is made from mayonnaise/eggs). Thankfully, Nandos has introduced a Vegainaise alternative for this particular sauce.
In fact, Nandos as a restaurant chain is still a largely viable place for you to eat.
With caveats of course!
That being said, this particular restaurant chain is aware of the growing demand for vegan food and has started to make arrangements accordingly.
Let us now explore the options if you were to decide to eat in, or take away!
Is Anything At Nando’s Vegan?
Despite being a flame-grilled chicken-based and inspired restaurant, Nandos has expanded its menu and has included a number of vegan options.
The vegan options across the different components of the menu are as follows.
- Houmous with Peri-Peri Drizzle
- Spiced Mixed Olives. With mushrooms, garlic and red pepper.
- Sweet Potato Wedges with Plant-Based Garlic PERinaise.
- Spiced Chickpea Burger. Chickpea and spinach patty with cumin, coriander and turmeric. Served in roll and with hummus, red pepper chutney and topped with red pickled onions.
- Rainbow Bowl. Spiced grains, crunchy slaw, long-stem broccoli, pickled golden carrot, hummus, and seeds.
- The Great Imitator Burger, Pitta or Wrap. Made from pea protein. Served with plant-based Garlic PERinaise, lettuce and chilli jam.
- Spicy Rice.
- Corn on the Cob. Flame-grilled and served with butter.
- Chips. Standard or Peri-salted.
- Garlic Bread.
- Rainbow Slaw.
- Long Stem Broccoli. Served in a garlic and lemon dressing.
- Mixed Leaf Salad. A mix of four leaves, sweet baby plum tomatoes and cucumber. Served with Balsamic dressing.
- PERi-PERi Drizzle. Spicy PERi-PERi infused oil.
- Chilli Jam. Sweet and sticky with just a hint of spice.
- PERi-BBQ. Sweet and smoky with PERi-PERi spice.
- Garlic Plant-Based PERinaise
There is only one plant-based dessert on the menu.
- Mango Gelato.
Nandos has a growing vegan menu.
While the sauces are naturally vegan by default, they are introducing new vegan menu items all the time.
And what’s more, they’ve made it really easy to see what menu items are suitable by indicating what food is ‘plant-based’ on their menu on their site!
So, look for this little icon:
Or alternatively, always ask a member of staff or better yet the manager!
Nandos Peri Peri Sauce is both vegetarian and vegan. It is made mostly of water, distilled vinegar, spices, flavorings, and seasonings.
Nandos Medium Sauce is both vegetarian and vegan. It is made mostly of water, distilled vinegar, spices, flavorings, and seasonings.
Are you wondering what other sauces may be vegan? Well, check out my guides below:
- Is Kewpie Mayo Vegan?
- Is A1 Sauce Vegan?
- Is Sweet Baby Rays Vegan?
- Is Tomato Ketchup Vegan?
- Is Satay Sauce Vegan?
- Is Tartar Sauce Vegan?
- Is Hoisin Sauce Vegan?
- Is Curry Sauce Vegan?
- Are Chick Fil A Sauces Vegan?
Hi there. I’m Jeremy – a passionate food technologist with several decades in the food industry. With a love for sauces, food, and nutrition, I decided to create WeWantTheSauce. Here I share my experience, knowledge, and recommendations; from ingredients and recipes to storage all the way through to nutrition for every sauce imaginable.