Note: We Want The Sauce is reader supported. If you make a purchase through a link on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission - at no extra cost to you. This includes links to Amazon.

Is A1 Sauce Vegan?

You’re looking for a new sauce and you stumble across A1. But is it vegan? Is there anything to worry about here or can you safely consume it? Well, this is what you need to know.

So, is A1 sauce vegan? A1 sauce is vegan-friendly and approved, with a full-plant-based ingredient list (tomato puree, crushed orange puree, garlic, and a select blend of spices) and without the use of animals during the manufacturing process. A1 sauce pairs particularly well with vegetables, especially as a marinade.

Here’s something rather interesting.

A1 sauce used to be called steak sauce.

In fact, in some regions of the world – it still is.

But it has changed and it has gone through some rebranding.

And here is why.

Initially, this sauce was designed with steak in mind.

To be eaten with, that is.

However, the manufacturer Kraft, rebranded the sauce in 2014, dropping steak altogether from the title.

The word steak was not inclusive, particularly of other diets such as vegetarianism and veganism, and was therefore removed.

The reference to meat has now gone (in most regions), but either way – the sauce continues with the same original recipe it has always had.

And that recipe is, by default an entirely vegan-friendly one – as we shall now see.

What Is A1 Steak Sauce Made From?

A1 sauce is made from tomato puree, crushed orange puree, garlic, and an intricate mix of spices.

In fact, the complete ingredient list for the original A1 sauce is as follows:

Tomato Puree (Tomato Paste, Water), Vinegar, Corn Syrup*, Salt, Raisin Paste, Crushed Orange Puree, Mixed Spices, Dried Garlic Powder, Caramel Colour (E150d), Dried Onions, Potassium Sorbate, Xanthan Gum, Celery Seeds, *Genetically Modified

How To Enjoy A1 Sauce With Vegan-Friendly Foods

A1 sauce is incredibly versatile, and you can use it on a wide variety and selection of dishes.

In fact, this tangy sauce works great when used as a marinade, or as a dip.

Here are my favorite uses for the sauce:

  • Marinade for roasted/ grilled vegetables
  • Marinade for stir frys,
  • Dip for cucumbers, carrots and peppers,
  • Added to vegan-currys or chillis,
  • On top of a jacket potato,
  • With vegan fajitas.

And literally, anything where you want to add a bit of tart, sour, salty, or sweet taste with a hint of pepper!


A1 sauce is vegan.

So you can rest assured and start using this delicious sauce as and where you see fit.

For me, I love it as a dipping sauce for veggies but there really is no limit as far as the flavor is concerned!

So give it a try.

Besides you can pick it up for a great price on Amazon.

So you can get it delivered without even having to leave your home!

Related Questions

Can Vegans Eat A1 Sauce?

Vegans can eat A1 sauce – it is a vegan-approved condiment that is listed on the safe condiments and sauces list by PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals).

Are you wondering what other sauces may be vegan? Well, check out my guides below: