Are you looking to make your own Fandos (Fake Nandos) at home? Perhaps you just love the sauce and want to eat it with different foods. Or of course, you could be eating in one of their numerous restaurants. Either way, are their condiments dairy-free? Here is all you need to know.
So, is Nandos sauce dairy-free? Nandos sauces are dairy-free. This includes both their Peri-Peri sauce and Marinades across all varieties. That being said, if you are eating in a Nandos restaurant, sauce (and chicken) could be cross-contaminated with dairy (via cheese that is cooked on the grill). So you will need to speak to the duty manager so that extra precautions can be taken.
If you are eating at home or buying a Nandos sauce from a supermarket – rest assured you will be fine to consume it.
We will soon look at the ingredient lists to see why.
Nevertheless, if you are eating in a restaurant you do need to be careful.
But Nandos, as a company, are very good with allergens.
In fact, they go out of their way to ensure that precautions are put in place should they need to.
Besides, their sauces are even dairy-free and vegan-friendly, too (by the way)!
But back to dairy, specifically…
Are Nandos Sauces Dairy-Free?
All Nandos sauces are naturally dairy-free. They are made primarily of vinegar, water, spices, seasonings, and flavorings.
If we take a look at the ingredient list of the Peri Peri sauce, and Marinade, we soon can see this for ourselves.
Peri-Peri Sauce Ingredients
Ingredients: Water, Distilled Vinegar, Onion Puree (11%), Salt, Lemon Puree (4%), Sunflower Seed Oil, Spices (Cayenne Pepper, African Bird’s Eye Chilli, Paprika), Green Chilli, Garlic Puree, Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum, Propylene Glycol Alginate), Antioxidant (Ascorbic Acid), Rosemary Extract
Ingredients: Water, Onions (11%), Garlic Puree (9%), Lemon Puree (7%), Tomato Paste, Sunflower Oil, Sugar, Salt, African Bird’s Eye Chilli, Spirit Vinegar, Paprika Powder, Modified Tapioca Starch, Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum; Propylene Glycol Alginate), Colour (Plain Caramel), Acidity Regulator (Citric Acid), Lemon Flavouring, Antioxidants (Ascorbic Acid; Rosemary Extract)
Now I know what you are probably thinking.
That’s just for the original sauce; what about the variations such as Garlic, Lemon and Herb, or Extra Hot?
Well, thankfully, again no dairy is included.
How To Find Out What Meals Contain Dairy At Nandos
If you are eating in a Nandos restaurant, then there are two ways to find out if a particular meal, or menu item, includes dairy. These are checking the online menu, or asking a member of staff/the duty manager.
For instance, if you head over to the Nandos website and check their menu, if you click on each menu item, you will see the allergen information clearly listed.
There is also a section on ‘potential kitchen contamination’ which you will need to check out too.
For instance the chicken butterfly page it reads:
As cheese is cooked on the grills, please speak to the manager on duty so that extra precautions can be taken
At the same time, it is recommended that you check the menu, or ask at Nandos, each time you visit.
They have been known to change their recipes from time to time!
Is PERi-PERi Sauce Dairy Free?
Nandos Peri-Peri sauce is dairy-free. Although if you are eating in a restaurant, be sure to ask for your food to be cooked away from any cheese to prevent cross-contamination with dairy.
Wondering what other sauces contain dairy? Check out my following guides:
- Is Kewpie Mayo Dairy Free?
- Does Buffalo Sauce Have Dairy?
- Does Alfredo Sauce Have Dairy?
- Does Tartar Sauce Have Dairy?
Hello. I’m Jeremy – an experienced saucier who has worked in some of the top kitchens over the last few decades. With a love for sauces, food, and nutrition, I decided to create WeWantTheSauce. Here I share my knowledge and expertise; from ingredients and recipes to storage all the way through to recommendations for every sauce imaginable.