Note: We Want The Sauce is reader supported. If you make a purchase through a link on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission - at no extra cost to you. This includes links to Amazon.

Is Nandos Sauce Gluten-Free?

Are you Coeliac and wondering whether you can consume Nandos sauce? Perhaps you are just limiting or eliminating gluten from your diet. Either way, do their sauces contain this potentially problematic protein? Let’s find out!

So, is Nandos sauce gluten-free? Nandos sauce is gluten-free. This includes their Peri-Peri sauce and Marinade sauces, and all the subsequent flavor varieties (including Garlic, Lemon, and Herb) and spice levels.

Thank goodness.

You can eat any one of their sauces.

They are even dairy-free and vegan-friendly. Even keto-friendly too (by the way)!

Great if you plan on eating in one of their restaurants, or even cooking with their sauce at home!

But if there is no gluten, what is the sauce made of exactly?

And what does this mean for the wider menu in general?

What Is Nandos Sauce Made Of?

Nandos sauces are made from a blend of vinegar, water, and a select blend of spices, seasonings, and flavorings. Although, the exact ingredient of Nandos sauce depends on the flavor and style of sauce in general. For instance, Peri-Peri sauce is made of different ingredients than the marinade.

Let us now look at the individual types of sauces to see what they are made of.

Peri Peri Sauce Medium

Ingredients: Water, Distilled Vinegar, Onion Puree (11%), Salt, Lemon Puree (4%), Sunflower Seed Oil, Spices (Cayenne Pepper, African Bird’s Eye Chilli, Paprika), Green Chilli, Garlic Puree, Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum, Propylene Glycol Alginate), Antioxidant (Ascorbic Acid), Rosemary Extract

Peri Peri Sauce Hot

Ingredients: Water, Distilled Vinegar, Lemon Puree (6%), Onion Puree (6%), Salt, Spices (Cayenne Pepper, African Bird’s Eye Chilli, Paprika), Green Chilli, Sunflower Seed Oil, Garlic Puree, Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum, Propylene Glycol Alginate), Antioxidant (Ascorbic Acid), Rosemary Extract

Peri Peri Sauce Garlic

Ingredients: Water, Distilled Vinegar, Onion Puree (11%), Salt, Lemon Puree (5%), Garlic Puree (4%), Sunflower Seed Oil, Spices (Cayenne Pepper, African Bird’s Eye Chilli, Paprika), Green Chilli, Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum, Propylene Glycol Alginate), Antioxidant (Ascorbic Acid), Rosemary Extract

Peri-Peri Sauce Lemon and Herb Extra Mild

Ingredients: Water, Distilled Vinegar, Onion Puree (6%), Lemon Puree (4%), Sunflower Seed Oil, Garlic Puree (2%), Salt, Spices and Herb (Chilli, Paprika, Parsley, African Bird’s Eye Chilli), Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum, Propylene Glycol Alginate), Antioxidant (Ascorbic Acid), Rosemary Extract, Dextrose, Spice Extract (Paprika)

Nando’s Peri Peri Sauce XX Hot

Ingredients: Water, Distilled Vinegar, Spices (African Bird’s Eye Chilli, Cayenne Pepper, Paprika), Lemon Puree (5%), Salt, Onion Puree (3%), Sunflower Seed Oil, Green Chilli, Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum, Propylene Glycol Alginate), Garlic Puree, Thickener (Modified Maize Starch), Antioxidant (Ascorbic Acid), Rosemary Extract

Marinade Medium

Ingredients: Water, Onions (11%), Garlic Puree (9%), Lemon Puree (7%), Tomato Paste, Sunflower Oil, Sugar, Salt, African Bird’s Eye Chilli, Spirit Vinegar, Paprika Powder, Modified Tapioca Starch, Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum; Propylene Glycol Alginate), Colour (Plain Caramel), Acidity Regulator (Citric Acid), Lemon Flavouring, Antioxidants (Ascorbic Acid; Rosemary Extract)

Peri-Peri Marinade Lemon and Herb Extra Mild

Ingredients: Water, Onions (7%), Lemon Puree (6%), Sunflower Oil, Garlic Puree (4%), Sugar, Spirit Vinegar, Modified Tapioca Starch, Salt, Acidity Regulator (Citric Acid), Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum; Propylene Glycol Alginate), Parsley, African Bird’s Eye Chilli, Lemon Flavouring, Coriander, Turmeric, Antioxidants (Ascorbic Acid; Rosemary Extract)

Marinade Hot

Ingredients: Water, Onions (11%), Garlic Puree (9%), Lemon Puree (6.5%), Tomato Paste, Spirit Vinegar, Sunflower Oil, Salt, Sugar, African Bird’s Eye Chilli, Paprika, Modified Tapioca Starch, Colour (Plain Caramel), Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum; Propylene Glycol Alginate), Red Chilli, Acidity Regulator (Citric Acid), Antioxidants (Ascorbic Acid; Rosemary Extract), Lemon Flavouring

Garlic Peri-Peri Marinade

Ingredients: Water, Garlic Puree (10%), Sugar, Onions (6%), Tomato Paste, Lemon Puree (4%), Spirit Vinegar, Modified Tapioca Starch, Salt, Sunflower Oil, Garlic Powder, African Bird’s Eye Chilli, Stabilisers (Xanthan Gum; Propylene Glycol Alginate), Onion Powder, Acidity Regulator (Citric Acid), Antioxidants (Ascorbic Acid; Rosemary Extract), Lemon Flavouring

Is Nando’s Celiac Friendly?

Nandos is mostly a Celiac Friendly restaurant. While not all menu items are naturally gluten-free, they are mindful and can accommodate celiacs.

That being said, due to non-celiac options on the menu, and the chance of cross-contamination, it is important to let your waiter or the restaurant manager know ahead of your order.

What Can Coeliacs Eat At Nandos?

Coeliacs can eat BBQ ribs, sweet potato chips, herb and garlic chicken meatballs, all chicken dishes (minus the tear and share platter), the Mediterranean salad, chips, spicy rice, corn on the corb, side salad and a number of other extras at Nandos.

As you can see, Coeliacs have a number of different options when ordering at Nandos.

Below, I present the full list of menu items that do not contain gluten, nor traces of the allergen:

Starters

  • BBQ Ribs
  • Sweet Potato Chips
  • Herb & Garlic Chicken Meatballs

Salads

  • Mediterrean Salad
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Trio Bell Pepper
  • Creamy Cracked Pepper

Chicken

  • Bone In Chicken
  • Breasts/Tenders
  • Ribs/Thighs
  • Mixed Platter

Chips/Sides

  • Chips
  • PERi PERi chips
  • Spicy Rice
  • Corn on the cob
  • PERinaise Dip
  • Creamy Chip Dip
  • Side Salad

Extras

  • Cheddar Cheese Slice
  • Feta
  • Avocado
  • Hummus

Desserts

  • Chocolate Mousse

You can find out about all menu items, and all other potential allergens on the official Nandos Allergen Informational Brochure here.

That being said, it is best to ask at your local Nandos branch and restaurant to know for sure.

Related Questions

Are Nando’s Sauces Gluten-Free?

All Nandos sauces are naturally gluten-free. This includes both the sauces they provide in restaurants and their packaged bottle sauces available online or at supermarkets.

Is Nando’s Hot PERi-PERi Sauce Gluten-Free?

Nando’s Hot PERi-PERi Sauce is naturally gluten-free. This is clearly stated on the bottle packaging.

Is Nandos Lemon And Herb Sauce Gluten-Free?

Nando’s Lemon And Herb Sauce is naturally gluten-free. This is clearly stated on the bottle packaging.

Wondering what other sauces contain gluten? Then the following guides may be for you: