Do you need to limit dairy in your diet? Perhaps you are lactose intolerant, maybe you just don’t like the thought of it. Or you may even follow a diet that excludes it. Either way, does this Japanese condiment contain it? Here is what you are going to want to know.
So, is Kewpie Mayo dairy-free? Kewpie Mayo is dairy-free. The creaminess comes from the egg yolks used in the recipe, along with the emulsion of vegetable oils and mustard flour/oil. While it may contain other allergens, there are no milk or milk-based products in this sauce.
It’s a fair question.
Particularly if you have seen Kewpie Mayo or perhaps even tasted it before.
It just looks and sounds like a sauce that may contain dairy, in some capacity.
But that’s not the case.
So let us now take a look at what ingredients usually make up this delicious Asian condiment instead before moving on to other potential allergens you may need to consider.
What Is Kewpie Mayo Made Of?
Kewpie Mayo is made from a blend of Soybean Oil, Egg Yolks, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Sugar, Red Wine Vinegar, Yeast Extract, and a few other unspecified natural flavors
The truth is, that is what traditional and typical Kewpie Mayo is made of.
Because Kewpie is actually a brand.
So we are referring to one particular product.
It’s not like regular mayonnaise, where are there are many different brands and recipes that result in almost different condiments.
Instead; Kewpie has become synonymous with this particular Japenese-based mayonnaise.
And as such, any search for this sauce will provide the same results.
Bottles of this sauce are sold via their famous diamond red bottle-kneck pattern.
One caveat here is that there does seem to be a variation in the recipe depending on where you are in the world.
The full ingredient list of Kewpie that is sold in the UK is as follows:
So you may need to check your bottle.
What Allergens Are In Kewpie Mayo?
The main allergen in Kewpie Mayo is Egg. Although, the only egg used in Kewpie Mayo is egg yolk (so if you have an allergy to egg whites you might be okay).
Just consider that there is a lot of egg yolk used in this sauce.
In fact, each 500g bottle contains 4 egg yolks – so do bear that in mind if you typically react negatively or poorly to eggs, or their yolks.
In some locations (such as the UK), Kewpie mayo may contain gluten (which is derived from Barley for the Vinegar).
That being said, this does not appear to be a global formulation.
Still, if you suffer from particular allergies, it’s best to contact the brand and manufacturer directly.
They will be able to advise you on what allergens could be present or may be at risk of cross-contamination due to production techniques.
Kewpie Mayo does not contain dairy.
That being said, it’s not a sauce from some potential allergens.
So if you do suffer from allergies and intolerances, be sure to get in contact with the company.
Or better yet, avoid it for now!
It just isn’t simply worth it.
Wondering what other sauces contain dairy? Check out my following guides:
- Is Nandos Sauce Dairy Free
- Does Buffalo Sauce Have Dairy?
- Does Alfredo Sauce Have Dairy?
- Does Tartar Sauce Have Dairy?
Hello. I’m Jeremy – an experienced saucier who has worked in some of the top kitchens over the last few decades. With a love for sauces, food, and nutrition, I decided to create WeWantTheSauce. Here I share my knowledge and expertise; from ingredients and recipes to storage all the way through to recommendations for every sauce imaginable.