Contemplating trying or buying Worcestershire Sauce but need to know whether it is gluten-free before you do? Besides, you don’t want to take any chances! So, here is what you need to know.
So, does Worcestershire sauce have gluten? Some brands and recipes of Worcestershire sauce are gluten-free, although, this is not always marketed, publicized, or stated clearly on product packaging. It is generally advised to contact the manufacturer directly to confirm.
Here’s a major difference.
Worcestershire sauce made from distilled white vinegar generally is gluten-free.
However, Worcestershire sauce that uses vinegar derived from barley (wheat) isn’t.
So it’s not black and white.
This is why you should always look to contact the manufacturer directly – besides there are a lot of brands out there.
Otherwise, you can always make gluten-free Worcestershire sauce from home using a suitable recipe.
- 1 What Is Worcestershire Sauce Made Of?
- 2 What Brands Of Worcestershire Sauce Are Gluten Free?
- 3 How To Find Out Whether A Worcestershire Sauce Product Is Gluten Free
- 4 Finally
- 5 Related Questions
What Is Worcestershire Sauce Made Of?
Worcestershire Sauce is typically made of vinegar, molasses, anchovies, garlic, tamarind extract, sugar, salt, alongside other flavorings, likely herbs, and spices.
Although, while these are the original ingredients, it is important to note that they do differ by recipe and brand.
Some brands of Worcestershire sauce are white distilled vinegar, others malt vinegar from barley, for instance.
You may also find other herbs or spices; including black pepper, allspice, nutmeg, cloves included too.
Sometimes, you’ll even find soy!
And then you may even find preservatives or other additives to change the consistency. Xanthum gum and cornstarch are such examples.
And even in brands and recipes that follow the original ingredients, the quantities of such ingredients can differ too!
It ultimately depends on what you buy – so do be sure to check the ingredient list first!
What Brands Of Worcestershire Sauce Are Gluten Free?
French’s Classic, Lea & Perrins (made from white vinegar), Wan Jan Shan, and the Wizards Sauces are the main brands of Worcestershire sauce that are certified as gluten-free.
So you have four options to consider here.
At least that is readily available from Amazon via this search.
Now here’s something that’s very important.
Lea and Perrins are only gluten-free in the United States.
It has a different recipe and packaging there. Whereas in Europe and even in Canada, this is not a gluten-free condiment.
How To Find Out Whether A Worcestershire Sauce Product Is Gluten Free
It’s probably best to assume that a particular brand of Worcestershire sauce is not gluten-free and then go about researching to confirm that it is.
To do so, try the following:
Check The Brands Website
All brands should have a product page that outlines what the product is, what ingredients it has, and lists any potential allergens.
Some companies make this all very clear and obvious.
Others not so much.
Either way, you should be able to quickly identify whether a particular brand is safe or requires further investigation still.
Next, you can always check the product packaging directly.
You can do this either within a store or via the internet.
People actually take pictures of labels it seems.
And if not, the company may do too.
When it comes to inspecting, you’ll obviously need to look for the major offenders here – Barley, Wheat, etc.
I actually did this with the Heinz Worcestshire sauce; I rang up the consumer hotline directly.
All you need to do is simply ask them.
They’ll have product information they can reference to confirm.
They should be able to advise if their sauce is gluten-free. Or at the very least get back to you once they are able to confirm.
Sometimes it is. Other times it is not.
Not ideal especially if you are out and about.
That being said, perhaps the biggest indicator a Worcestershire sauce is gluten-free is that it is made of distilled white vinegar, not malt vinegar.
Of course, that’s not the only thing to look for or consider, but it’s a good rule.
In summary – it’s always better to check. Either the ingredient list closely or with the manufacturer directly.
Besides, this is not a sauce that typically has the gluten-free label you may be looking for.
Or, you can always make your own:
Learn how: Gluten Free Worcestershire Sauce Recipe
Does Heinz Worcestershire Sauce Have Gluten?
Heinz Worcestershire Sauce is not gluten-free. It uses malt vinegar which is derived from Barley.
Is Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce GF?
Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is sometimes gluten-free, but not always. It depends on whether distilled white vinegar or malt vinegar (derived from Barley is used). The original recipe is therefore not generally gluten-free.
Wondering what other sauces contain gluten? Then the following guides may be for you:
- Is Kewpie Mayo Gluten Free?
- Is Nandos Sauce Gluten-Free?
- Is Sweet Baby Rays Gluten Free?
- Is Tahini Gluten Free?
- Does Tzatziki Have Gluten?
- Is Fish Sauce Gluten Free?
- Is Duck Sauce Gluten Free?
- Is Oyster Sauce Gluten Free?
- Is Hoisin Sauce Gluten Free?
Hello, I’m Jeremy, a sauce enthusiast and taste trailblazer! My endless pursuit of new flavors has led me on a journey to master sauce making at home, along with try out a range of exciting brands and sauce offerings. Now I share my recipes, tips and recommendations on WeWantTheSauce to help fellow foodies find the perfect sauces.