Are you limiting or need to avoid gluten in your diet? Wondering whether Tzatziki is now off the menu or whether it is still safe to consume? Here is what you need to know.
So, does tzatziki sauce have gluten? Most brands and recipes of Tzatziki are naturally gluten-free, even those that contain cornflour which does not contain gluten in its natural form. Nevertheless, always be sure to check product packaging carefully and contact the manufacturer directly if in doubt.
I had to look into cornflour on this one.
I naturally assumed that cornflour contained gluten, but this thickening agent doesn’t.
Besides it derives from maize which is gluten-free.
Moral of the story, never assume.
And that’s a good message here.
Never assume that Tzatziki is always gluten-free 100% of the time.
You need to be careful as this particular protein can find its way into sauces and condiments in a number of ways.
Nevertheless, thankfully for the most part you should be okay.
Here is why.
What Is Tzatziki Made Of?
Tzatziki is most typically made from greek-style yogurt, drained cucumber, oil (often olive or sunflower), fresh herbs (typically mint or dill), garlic, lemon juice, and salt.
And that’s usually it.
That being said, some brands will often include other ingredients too, such as preservatives or other herbs for flavor.
And then you have thickening agents, like cornflour, as we have already discussed.
It’s not in every brand or every recipe, but you will see it from time to time.
Nonetheless, Tzatziki is quite a minimal sauce.
Not much generally goes into this creamy condiment!
What Allergens Are In Tzatziki?
Due to being primarily made from yogurt, the main allergen in Tzatziki is dairy (milk). Although, some brands and recipes will also contain sulfur dioxide and sulfites which can set off an allergic reaction in some people.
Sulfites are commonly used as preservatives in some foods, although they are naturally occurring to some extent.
This guide is useful if you suspect you have a sulfite allergy or want to learn more about managing this compound in your diet.
Besides, sulfite sensitivity is also a thing.
How To Make Gluten-Free Tzatziki
Gluten Free Tzatziki Recipe
Making fresh, gluten-free Tzatziki at home is effortless and simple. It takes minimal ingredients and only 10 minutes of your time.
Let us now look at my favorite, gluten-free Tzatziki recipe and how to make it set by step.
- 500g plain greek yogurt
- 2 garlic cloves, minced
- ½ tablespoon of fresh dill, finely chopped
- 3 tablespoons (45-60ml) of olive oil
- 3/4 whole cucumber, coarsely grated
- 1 tablespoon (60ml) white vinegar for cucumber
- Salt to taste
- Begin by peeling your cucumber and grating it with a cheese grater (be sure to use the larger blades on your grater).
- Add the grated cucumber to a bowl, add a teaspoon of salt and 1 tablespoon of white vinegar.
- Squeeze the grated cucumber to remove the water.
- In a secondary bowl, add all of the ingredients together. Mix thoroughly.
- Salt and pepper to taste.
- Cover and to the refrigerator for one hour, prior to serving.
- It's a good idea to add to an airtight container as soon as you have finished preparing and put it in the fridge before serving.
- You should be able to keep this gluten-free Tzatziki for 3-5 days, assuming its kept airtight, and at optimal freshness. After this it is recommended to make up some more, fresh.
Tzatziki is gluten-free by default.
At least if you make it from scratch.
That being said you can never be too careful with pre-made options or brands for that matter.
So do at the very least ask, and question; just to be on the safe side.
Besides, contacting the maker or manufacturer doesn’t take all that long – and the reassurance alone can make you enjoy this wonderfully creamy condiment all the more.
Wondering what other sauces contain gluten? Then the following guides may be for you:
- Is Kewpie Mayo Gluten Free?
- Is Nandos Sauce Gluten-Free?
- Does Worcestershire Sauce Have Gluten?
- Is Sweet Baby Rays Gluten Free?
- Is Tahini Gluten Free?
- Is Fish Sauce Gluten Free?
- Is Duck Sauce Gluten Free?
- Is Oyster Sauce Gluten Free?
- Is Hoisin Sauce Gluten Free?
Hello. I’m Jeremy – an experienced saucier who has worked in some of the top kitchens over the last few decades. With a love for sauces, food, and nutrition, I decided to create WeWantTheSauce. Here I share my knowledge and expertise; from ingredients and recipes to storage all the way through to recommendations for every sauce imaginable.