Limiting soy in your diet or do not typically like the taste? Perhaps it’s the opposite and you want to include more of it. Or, maybe you’re just naturally curious. Either way, does this dark and flavorsome condiment contain this Asian legume? Let’s find out!
So, does Worcestershire sauce have soy? Most brands and recipes of Worcestershire Sauce do not contain soy. The original and popular Lea and Perrins brand, for instance, does not. However, there are some brands that do include soy as an ingredient. Heinz Worcestershire Sauce is one of them.
Unfortunately, there is not a definitive answer here.
What I can confidently state is that traditional recipes of Worcestershire sauce do not.
But, brands often add their own unique spin on condiments and that does appear to be the case here too.
But what is actually in this condiment and are there any other allergens to perhaps look out for.
Let’s get started.
What Does Worcestershire Sauce Have In It?
Worcestershire Sauce is typically made of vinegar, molasses, anchovies, garlic, tamarind extract, sugar, salt, and other flavorings.
That being said, not every brand or recipe of Worcestershire sauce includes every ingredient listed up above.
Some, do include others.
And that is where soy comes in.
Some brands of Worcestershire sauce include soy sauce.
Then there are various herbs and spices.
I’ve even seen one brand, the 365 by Whole Foods Market (available on Amazon) that includes caramel, black pepper, and the likes of nutmeg and cloves.
So, while the traditional recipe tends to be quite similar, there are certainly variations.
Just bear that in mind.
And always check the labels first.
And remember that the order of the ingredients dictates how much of each one you will find in the sauce.
So the first ingredient is typically the most abundant.
What Allergens Are In Worcestershire Sauce?
Fish is the main allergen in Worcestershire sauce, through the inclusion of anchovies, although some brands and recipes may also contain gluten.
Some are based on white distilled vinegar and are gluten-free, whereas others are based on malt vinegar (derived from barley) and are therefore not gluten-free.
So if you are allergic to fish, a vegan/vegetarian, or are celiac this sauce is generally not going to be an option every time for you.
Unless you seek out substitutes that are made of different ingredients, of course.
The Wizards Sauces Organic Vegetarian Worcestershire Sauce from Amazon is one such example that may be suitable.
But it does have soy!
Can I Use Worcestershire Sauce Instead Of Soy?
You can use Worcestershire sauce instead of soy and it does make for a useful substitute. While it does have a similar umami quality, it is not as salty as soy and is generally a little stronger in flavor.
If you do decide to substitute Worcestershire sauce for soy, then you will need to consider the quantity used.
If you are looking to replace the saltiness of soy sauce, then naturally you will need to use less Worcestershire and you’ll likely need to add some additional salt too.
But if you’re adding Worcestershire sauce purely for its color; be sure not to overdo it.
It introduces a lot of new flavors into a dish so do be mindful of this.
If you are not concerned with adding Worcestershire sauce as a direct substitute and are keen to make your meal a little more interesting, try a direct like for like.
So if the recipe calls for 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, use 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce.
But do remember, you can always add more if you need it, but you cannot generally take it away!
Traditional and original Worcestershire sauce does not contain soy.
But a lot has changed since then.
In reality, many new brands have introduced soy into their recipes for additional flavor and to set their products apart.
So do take this on board.
And do check the ingredient list of the brand you are considering.
You can be caught off guard – I certainly was!
Is Lea And Perrins Worcestershire Sauce Soy Fee?
Lea and Perrins Worcestershire sauce is naturally soy-free. It only contains the following ingredients: Vinegar, Molasses, Sugar, Salt, Water, Onion, Anchovies, Garlic, Cloves, Tamarind Extract, Natural Flavoring, and Chili Pepper Extract.
Hello. I’m Jeremy – an experienced saucier who has worked in some of the top kitchens over the last few decades. With a love for sauces, food, and nutrition, I decided to create WeWantTheSauce. Here I share my knowledge and expertise; from ingredients and recipes to storage all the way through to recommendations for every sauce imaginable.