Note: We Want The Sauce is reader supported. If you make a purchase through a link on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission - at no extra cost to you. This includes links to Amazon.

Does Alfredo Sauce Have Dairy?

Trying to avoid dairy? Well, what about Alfredo sauce? Can you still have some or is this now a no-go? Here is what you must know.

So, does Alfredo sauce have dairy? Alfredo sauce does have dairy; with cheese (typically Parmesan) being the main ingredient. Butter is also a significant ingredient of this sauce. However, dairy-free Alfredo sauce can be made with substitutes or purchased directly from certain manufacturers.

Not all is lost.

But it does mean that you do need to be careful.

Most Alfredo sauce is rich in cheese and butter.

So unless you’re mindful, careful, or going out of your way to source a dairy-free option/make it yourself, it’s off-limits.

As we shall now see by the ingredient list below.

But keep reading as we will soon be introducing you to some dairy-free options you’re going to want to try!

What Is Alfredo Sauce Usually Made Of?

Alfredo sauce is usually made from garlic, butter, heavy cream, and parmesan. Other ingredients may be included depending on the brand or recipe.

In reality, traditional Alfredo sauce centers around dairy products.

Cream, cheese, and butter.

It’s what gives the sauce its creaminess.

And it’s what enables the emulsification – creating a rich and smooth sauce that is ideal for coating pasta.

What Allergens Are In Alfredo Sauce?

The main allergens in Alfredo sauce are dairy and egg. Although, some brands and recipes call for flour which can also result in gluten allergies.

When it comes to specific allergies, you are going to need to be vigilant.

For any store brought brand, you will need to check the product packaging.

This will outline any specific allergens that are included.

And you need to be careful.

Because even if allergenic ingredients are not included in the recipe, some manufacturers will produce various products using the same machinery/at the same premises.

The result can be cross-contamination.

So you can suffer from an allergenic reaction, or your intolerance may be flared even without consuming the ingredient directly.

So, if the allergy information is not specified directly on the packaging, or you want further information, it’s best to contact the manufacturer directly to confirm.

Dairy Free Alfredo Sauced Options

Thankfully, you have two different options when it comes to still consuming Alfredo sauce. While it may not taste the same, the following are excellent options for dairy-free Alfredo sauce.

Dairy-Free Brands

Perhaps the best way to identify dairy-free brands is to search online.

For instance, if you search “dairy-free alfredo sauce” on Amazon, you’ll notice several options.

Primal Kitchen offers a dairy-free option, and it is in fact a best seller in its category.

The ingredients are incredibly healthy too:

Water, Cashew Butter, Tapioca Starch, Avocado Oil, Sea Salt, Roasted Garlic, Onion Powder, Black Pepper, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Citric Acid, Nutritional Yeast

An excellent option, and it’s not too pricey on Amazon either.

Just consider that this will taste different from classic Alfredo sauce.

Besides, Alfredo sauce is predominantly dairy.

So it’s not a direct substitute, but it is a great alternative and offers something a little different nonetheless.

Outside of Amazon, you can always visit the grocery store and make some inquiries.

Specialist food shops and independent retailers may be able to provide some options too.

Just be sure to check the packaging and if not sure, contact the manufacturer first.

If in doubt, assume it contains dairy.

Make It Yourself

The below is a creamy dairy-free Alfredo sauce that typically takes around 10-15 minutes to make.

You can also make it vegan too if you decide to switch the broth to a vegetable one!


  • 2 tbps olive oil/coconut oil,
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic,
  • 2 tbsp of flour (you can substitue for almond/rice flour)
  • 1/2 cup chicken/ vegetable broth
  • 1 cup of almond ,ilk
  • 1 cup full-fat canned coconut milk
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon nutritional yeast


  • Step One: In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil at a moderate temperature.
  • Step Two: Add your garlic and saute until it starts to brown.
  • Step Three: Whisk in your flour until it has mixed evenly with the oil.
  • Step Four: Whisk the broth in gently – allow the sauce to thicken.
  • Step Five: Whisk all remaining ingredients and simmer until the sauce becomes thick.

That’s it.

Mix in with your pasta and serve fresh.


Alfredo sauce does naturally contain dairy.

In fact, it’s a bit of a dairy-fest!

So, you are going to want to stay away from it.

Unless of course you purchase or make a dairy-free option.

Wondering what other sauces contain dairy? Check out my following guides: