Note: We Want The Sauce is reader supported. If you make a purchase through a link on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission - at no extra cost to you. This includes links to Amazon.

Does Buffalo Sauce Have Dairy?

Is dairy not an option for you? Well, some foods that are off-limits are easily identifiable; but others can be a little more tricky. Buffalo sauce is one such example. Can you consume this condiment or is it one that you will need to avoid? Let’s find out!

So, does Buffalo sauce have dairy? Buffalo sauce often contains dairy, but not always. It depends on the recipe or manufacturer, and if butter is included or used. Thankfully there are dairy-free options on the market if you are still interested in consuming this sauce.

It’s not a definitive yes or no I am afraid.

Which means you need to be a little careful.

It will require close inspection of the bottle, or if that’s not possible, you may need to make contact with the chef/manufacturer.

But do not fear.

I’ll soon be introducing you to some dairy-free options.

First, let us see what is actually in this popular hot sauce.

What Is Buffalo Sauce Made Of?

Buffalo sauce is typically made of cayenne red peppers, distilled vinegar, salt, and garlic powder. Butter is sometimes used to add creaminess and texture, and other spices may be introduced too for added or new flavors.

Of course, it all depends on the brand and recipe.

There are many out there and not all are the same.

And here is something that is quite interesting and can make all the difference.

Not all Buffalo sauces contain real butter.

That’s right.

Some include “natural butter type flavors”.

It’s not the same.

And if you see that, you should be good to go.

That is not dairy.

And it’s been confirmed by Buffalo sauce manufacturers directly.

Instead, ‘natural butter type flavors’ are chemically engineered.

Like food additives really – that give the taste.

Now again, remember not all Buffalo sauces contain these “flavors”.

And not all of these “flavors” will be naturally dairy or other allergen-free.

So you will need to inspect the bottle or contact the manufacturer to confirm.

In fact, that’s probably best if you are in doubt.

Nevertheless, if we take a look at the full ingredient list of the popular Frank’s Red Hot Hot Buffalo Wings Sauce, we can see the general ingredient list of this condiment:

Distilled Vinegar, Aged Cayenne Red Peppers, Salt, Water, Canola Oil, Paprika, Natural Flavor, Xanthan Gum, Natural Butter Type Flavor and Garlic Powder.

It’s good to know at least.

Dairy-Free Buffalo Sauce Options

If you’re looking for dairy-free Buffalo sauce, then there are generally two ways of going about it; making some yourself, or buying particular brands.

Dairy-Free Brands

There are a number of dairy-free brands on the market.

We’ve covered Franks already, and that is one you can certainly try.

Other than this, Primal Kitchen offers a dairy-free option, and it is in fact a best seller in its category.

The ingredients are incredibly healthy too:

Cayenne Pepper Sauce (Aged Red Cayenne Peppers, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Garlic), Organic Cashew Butter, Avocado Oil, Organic Garlic Powder, Organic Paprika

It’s a great option; just look at the reviews on Amazon for it!

Home-made Recipe

The below is a tried and tested dairy-free Buffalo sauce recipe that will only take you 5 minutes to prepare and a further 10 minutes to make.

That being said, you will need a blender or food processor of some sort.


  • ⅔ cup hot pepper sauce
  • ½ cup coconut oil
  • 1½ tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • ¼ tsp cayenne pepper
  • ⅛ tsp garlic powder
  • salt, to taste


  • Step One: Add all of the ingredients to a blender and mix until smooth.
  • Step Two: Pour into a saucepan and place over a medium heat. Let the sauce come to a boil but be sure to whisk continously.
  • Step Three: Once you notice bubbling, remove the sauce from the heat.
  • Step Four: Set aside to give the sauce a chance to cool down.

That’s it.

Add it to your wings, or enjoy it as a freshly prepared dip.

Failing that, transfer to a sealed airtight container, either a glass jar or even Tupperware, and add to the fridge.

It should keep for 7-14 days.

Although the quality and flavor will degrade over time.


Buffalo sauce can be dairy free. It usually is. But not always.

I know, not a particularly helpful answer.

But that’s the truth.

It depends.

You’re primarily looking for butter as an ingredient.

Cannot see it – you should be okay.

Just don’t be caught out or fooled by the “natural butter flavor”. That’s not dairy.

And if in doubt, just purchase a specifically specified dairy free option, like Primal Kitchen on Amazon.

Besides, it’s delicious!

Related Questions

Does Frank’s Buffalo Sauce Contain Dairy?

Frank’s Buffalo sauce does not contain dairy. While “natural butter type flavor” is included as an ingredient, the company have stated and confirmed this is not real dairy, instead being a chemically derived flavor.

Wondering what other sauces contain dairy? Check out my following guides: