Note: We Want The Sauce is reader supported. If you make a purchase through a link on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission - at no extra cost to you. This includes links to Amazon.

Is Buffalo Sauce Vegetarian?

Are you a vegetarian on the search for vegetarian friendly condiments? Are you wondering about buffalo sauce, specifically? Can you consume this sauce or is it a no-go. Well here is everything you will want to know.

So, is buffalo sauce vegetarian? Buffalo sauce is generally considered to be vegetarian. Although it does depend somewhat on the recipe or the brand. That being said most commercial bottled brands should be safe to consume.

The same cannot be said for vegans, though.

As we shall soon see by looking at what this spicy sauce is made of.

But for now, as a vegetarian you should be okay. Just be sure to check any product packaging first and foremost.

And if you’re eating out, you may need to ask the chef a few questions!

Nevertheless let us explore why this condiment is generally safe before we turn to some of the brands that are certified vegetarian friendly.

What Is Buffalo Sauce Made Of?

Buffalo sauce is typically made of distilled vinegar, cayenne pepper, salt, water, an oil (usually canola) along with others herbs and spices used for flavouring. Some brands/recipes also use egg yolk, thickeners and preservatives too.

For the most part, this is a condiment that has a pretty limited ingredient list.

If we take a look at the ever popular Franks RedHot Buffalo sauce, we can soon see this:

Distilled Vinegar,Aged Cayenne Peppers (27%),Salt,Water,Canola oil,Paprika,Stabiliser: Xanthan Gum,Natural Flavouring,Garlic Powder

And then again, if we look at the equally popular Buffalo Wild Wing condiment:

Water, Cayenne Red Pepper, Distilled Vinegar, Soybean Oil, Salt, Egg Yolk, Modified Cornstarch, Xanthan Gum, Garlic*, Spice, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Onion*, Corn Syrup, Molasses, Caramel Color, Sugar, Calcium Disodium EDTA added to protect flavor, Tamarind, *Dehydrated

So as you can see – two entirely vegetarian friendly ingredient lists!

There are others that contain milk too, take TGI Fridays buffalo sauce as an example.

Still, if you are a lacto-vegetarian, you can still include it in your diet.

Here is the full ingredient list, for reference:

Water, Distilled Vinegar, Cayenne Pepper Puree, Butter Flavor (Milk), Natural Smoke Flavor, Soybean Oil, Salt, Xanthan Gum, Paprika (Color and Spice), Garlic Powder, Natural Flavor, Celery Seed. Contains: milk.

Vegetarian-Friendly Brands of Buffalo Sauce

The following are just some of the vegetarian-friendly certified and recognized brands:

  • Frank’s RedHot Buffalo Sauce
  • Buffalo Wild Wings sauce
  • TGI FRIDAYS Buffalo Wing Sauce
  • Sweet Baby Rays Buffalo Wing Sauce
  • Noble Made Medium Buffalo
  • Primal Kitchen Buffalo Sauce

Vegetarian Buffalo Sauce Recipe

Fancy making your own buffalo from scratch? This simple vegetarian friendly recipe will help you do just that!

Ingredients

  • ⅔ cup hot pepper sauce
  • ½ cup of coconut oil
  • 1½ tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • ¼ tsp vegan Worcestershire sauce
  • ¼ tsp cayenne pepper
  • ⅛ tsp garlic powder
  • salt (to taste)

Method

Step One: Add all of the ingredients to a blender or food processor and blitz until smooth.

Step Two: Place the mixture into a small saucepan and place over medium-high heat. Bring to a boil while stirring with a whisk.

Step Three: Once the sauce starts to bubble, take off of the heat and leave to one side to cool.

Step Four: Serve right away on cauliflower or other vegetables or continue to let cool for storage. Place it in bottles and store in the fridge for up to two weeks.

Lastly

Buffalo sauce is ggenerally a vegetarian condiment – even though it is widely used and associated with chicken wings and meat.

That being said, as with any condiment, it’s always a good idea to check before blindly consuming.

Check the bottle, packaging or in with the manufacturer first. It’s always a good check.

FAQs

Is hot buffalo sauce vegetarian?

Hot buffalo sauce is typically considered vegetarian.

Related Articles: