We Want The sauce is reader supported. We may earn a commission when you buy through our links - at no additional cost to you. This helps us to be your source of information online 🥫

What Is Hat Sauce At Hat Creek?

Stopping by at the Hat Creek Burger Company, or perhaps even ordering online? Have you noticed Hat sauce in the sauces and dressings section of the menu and but are not sure what it is – whether you would like it or whether to order it? Well, here is what you will want to know.

x
We Want The Sauce

So, what is hat sauce at hat creek? Hat sauce is a mustard-based sauce and one of the four house sauces at Hat Creek. It has more of a kick and a spicier tone than the other sauce options available on the menu.

Hat sauce; it’s hardly self-descriptive!

But all you need to know is that it is made in-house and all of which derive from much-loved family recipes.

It’s really what sets this particular burger chain apart; oh and the quality.

As we shall know see.

Hat Creek Hat Sauce Ingredients

Hat Creek sauce is a combination of mayonnaise, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, horseradish, and other herbs and spices.

While the ingredients of the sauce are not actually shared publically, I got in contact to find out.

Here is the full ingredient list:

Mayonnaise (soybean oil, water, egg yolk, corn syrup, distilled vinegar, mustard seed)

Ketchup (tomato concentrate, distilled vinegar, corn syrup, salt, spices)

Worcestershire Sauce (distilled vinegar, molasses, sugar, water,salt, anchovies, tamarind, spices)

Garlic, Salt, Black Pepper

Horseradish (horseradish, distilled vinegar, water, soybean oil,salt, garlic salt, granulated sugar)

Additionally, this sauce is made fresh and the company has a real commitment and drive for quality.

Here is what the founder, and owner Drew Gresset, had to say on the ingredients used in his restaurants:

“The quality of our food is a huge pillar of our company. I’m taking my kids there three times a week, and our friends are doing the same thing. I’m eating there all the time,” Gressett said. “The quality of our food is just super, and it is of paramount importance to have an all-natural product and not cut corners on that.”

Is Hat Creek Hat Sauce Gluten Free?

Hat Sauce is gluten-free, along with all other sauces on the menu. The only exception is the Happy sauce.

Source: Twitter

That being said, Hat sauce is not completely free from allergens – it does contain egg and soy; so do be mindful of those.

One thing to consider here is that Hat Creek also now offers gluten-free buns – but you will need to ask in-restaurant to ensure any meal or menu item is gluten-free.

This Hat Creek reference guide can give you a general understanding of the allergen information on all menu items.

What Does Hat Sauce Taste Like?

Hat sauce is creamy with a hint of spice. It is somewhat thick in consistency but makes a nice change from your standard ketchup.

What To Eat Hat Sauce With

Hat sauce is very versatile; you can try it with many different items available on the menu.

In fact, it comes with the Classic burger, as standard. Unless you ask to have it taken out, of course.

Otherwise, it makes a great addition to a chicken sandwich, or with chicken flashers (nuggets).

Then there are always the sides; it’s great as a dipping sauce for french fries, sweet potato fries, or tater tots.

Nothing would be stopping you from having it with a shareable either; depending on who you are sharing with, and their preferences of course!

Finally

Hat sauce is a signature sauce of Hat Creek.

Based on an all-natural recipe and made in-restaurant – this is certainly one you should try.

Whether you go directly for the Classic burger or want to be a little more cautious and get it as a dipping sauce for your fries; either way the result will likely be the same – you’ll soon be coming back for more!