Note: We Want The Sauce is reader supported. If you make a purchase through a link on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission - at no extra cost to you. This includes links to Amazon.

Is Ortega Taco Sauce Gluten Free?

Are you on a gluten-free diet wondering whether Ortega Taco sauce is safe to consume? Are there any ingredients that you need to be aware of? Well, here is what you are going to need to know.

So is Ortega sauce gluten-free? Ortega Taco sauce is not certified gluten-free. Although, this sauce does not contain any gluten-containing ingredients, and gluten is not listed as an allergen on the product packaging. That being said, there is the possibility of cross-contamination from the ingredients they source from suppliers.

In reality, Ortega’s products may or may not contain gluten.

It is impossible to know for sure.

Although the likelihood is slim. And here is why.

  1. Ortega as a brand has a policy to clearly label gluten sources in the ingredient list on their products. So if you check the labels you should notice that gluten is not specified.
  2. Many people with gluten intolerances and sensitivities are known to buy and use this sauce, without issue.

So chances are, this sauce should be safe.

Of course, you’re going to need to make your own decision here and you should always check product packaging first.

In fact, I actually reached out to the manufacturer on this matter. Here is what their kind customer service representative relayed to me:

“B&G Foods has procedures in place to ensure that products we label gluten free meet the Food and Drug Administration’s guidelines for gluten free claims (<20 ppm gluten).

We recommend, however, that you always check the label on a specific product for the most current ingredient statement, nutritional information and gluten free status.

Recipes and ingredients affecting nutritional information and gluten free status may change periodically.

When looking for gluten free products, please look for the gluten free statement on the packaging.

If our product is not labeled gluten free we have not analyzed for gluten content and it is possible the ingredients in these products may have come into contact with gluten-containing products prior to manufacturing.”

Corporate Consumer Affairs
B&G Foods, Inc.

Nevertheless, let us now look at what these sauces are currently made of so you can see why many on a gluten-free diet feel confident to consume them!

What Is Ortega Taco Sauce Made Of?

Ortega taco sauce is mostly made of Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Water, Corn Syrup, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Modified Corn Starch, and Spices. Although other additives, flavorings, and ingredients may be present depending on the flavor variety.

In fact, to get a better understanding, it’s best to look at each product.

I’ve listed the full ingredient list for the main ones below.

Ortega Original Mild Taco Sauce Ingredients

Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Water, Corn Syrup, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Modified Corn Starch, Spices, Paprika, Citric Acid, Green Chili Powder, Sodium Benzoate (to Preserve Freshness), Xanthan Gum, Onion Powder.

Ortega Original Medium Taco Sauce Ingredients

Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Water, Corn Syrup, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Modified Corn Starch, Spices, Paprika, Citric Acid, Green Chili Powder, Sodium Benzoate (to Preserve Freshness), Xanthan Gum, Onion Powder.

Ortega Original Hot Taco Sauce Ingredients

Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Water, Corn Syrup, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Spices, Modified Cornstarch, Paprika, Citric Acid, Green Chile Powder, Sodium Benzoate (To Preserve Freshness), Xanthan Gun, Onion Powder.

Ortega Sriracha Taco Sauce Ingredients

Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Water, Sriracha Chili Sauce (Chili Pepper, Distilled Vinegar, Garlic, Sugar, Salt, Natural Flavors, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Sorbate & Potassium Benzoate), Corn Syrup, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Modified Cornstarch, Spices, Paprika, Citric Acid, Green Chile Powder, Sodium Benzoate (To Preserve Freshness), Xanthan Gum, Onion Powder, Oregano.

Ortega Chipotle Taco Sauce Ingredients

Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Water, Honey, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Corn Syrup, Modified Cornstarch, Ground Chipotle Pepper, Cumin, Citric Acid, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Hickory Smoke Flavor, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Benzoate (To Preserve Freshness).

Ortega Ranch Mild Taco Sauce Ingredients

Water, Canola Oil, Distilled Vinegar, Sugar, Buttermilk, Tomato Paste, Salt, Modified Corn Starch, Dried Onion, Dried Garlic, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Spices, Propylene Glycol Alginate, Xanthan Gum, Dried Green Chili Pepper, Dried Chipotle Pepper, Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Polysorbate 60, Titanium Dioxide (Color), Potassium Sorbate and Sodium Benzoate and Calcium Disodium EDTA (To Preserve Freshness).

Other Allergens To Be Aware Of In Ortega Taco Sauce

The other main potential allergens to be aware of in Ortega Taco sauce include tomatoes, buttermilk (lactose), honey, chili, and garlic.

Of course, individual sensitivity and intolerances will differ from person to person, as will the exact ingredients of each flavor variety.

So, as always, it’s essential to check any product packaging before consuming any Ortega sauce product.

Finally

Ortega Taco sauce is likely gluten-free.

There are no gluten-containing ingredients, at least.

There is no wheat, wheat derivatives, or “gluten” containing flours (ie. barley, rye, etc).

However, there is always the risk of cross-contamination from the ingredients used.

Ultimately, it depends on where they were sourced and how they were handled by suppliers.

That’s why Ortega probably is quite vague.

Nevertheless, whether you decide to consume this sauce or look for an alternative that is certified gluten-free, well, that’s a decision you are going to need to make.

Related Questions

Is Ortega Skillet Taco Sauce Gluten-Free?

Ortega Skillet Taco Sauce is likely gluten-free as it does not contain any gluten-containing ingredients and this allergen is not stated. However, this product is not officially certified as being gluten-free.

Is Ortega Flavor Craver Taco Ranch Gluten-Free?

Ortega Flavor Craver Taco Ranch is likely gluten-free as it does not contain any gluten-containing ingredients and this allergen is not stated. However, this product is not officially certified as being gluten-free.

Is Ortega Taco Seasoning Gluten-Free?

Ortega seasoning is likely gluten-free as it does not contain any gluten-containing ingredients and this allergen is not stated. However, this product is not officially certified as being gluten-free.

Up next: Ortega Taco Sauce Nutrition